South Africa , Africa - Wontra Travels

Start Your Search Here

    • 16+ years
    • 12-15 years
    • 2-11 years
    • 0-23 months

Welcome to South Africa

South Africa

Capital(s): Cape Town, Bloemfontein, Pretoria

Continent: Africa

Currency: South African Rand (ZAR)

Driving Side: Left

Dialling Code: +27

Official Language(s): Afrikaans, Northern Sotho, English, Southern Ndebele, Southern Sotho, Swazi, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa, Zulu

Population: 54,956,900

Time Zone: SAST (UTC+2)

Located at the southern tip of the continent Africa, the Republic of South Africa is the 25th-largest country in the world by land area and world's 24th-most populous nation. Sitting on a coastline along the Indian and South Atlantic oceans; bordered in the north by Namibia, Botswana and Zimbabwe, and on the east by Mozambique and Swaziland, South Arica is well known for its Wines, Wildlife and Gold.

The country is divided into 9 Provinces – the Eastern Cape (Bhisho), Free State (Bloemfontein), Guateng (Johannesburg), KwaZulu-Natal (Pietermaritzburg), Limpopo (Polokwane), Mpumalanga (Nelspruit), North West (Mahikeng), Northern Cape (Kimberly) and Western Cape (Cape Town). Each province is governed by a unicameral legislature. They are further divided into 52 districts - 8 metropolitan and 44 district municipalities. The district municipalities are further subdivided into 226 local municipalities.

South Africa is the only country with three capitals – Bloemfontein (Judicial), Cape Town (Legislative) and Pretoria (Administrative). The constitution recognises 11 official names and languages. In 2010, the country hosted the first ever FIFA World Cup on the continent.

Information & Facts

Attraction Overview

Popular attractions – Apartheid Museum, Kruger National Park, Cradle of Humankind, Table Mountain, Robben Island, Cape of Good Hope, uShaka Marine World, Moses Mabhida Stadium, and Johannesburg Zoo.


Due to oceanic influence and varied topography, South Africa has a general temperate climate but a great variety of climatic zones exist. The climatic zones range from the extreme desert of the southern Namibia in the farthest northwest to the lush subtropical climate in the east along the Mozambique border and the Indian Ocean. Winters in South Africa occur between June and August.


The dialling code is +27 and there are plenty of internet cafes, where access rates are cheap.  The country has an extensive GSM network and there are five cell phone providers: Vodacom, MTN, Cell-C, Virgin Mobile and 8ta.

Getting Around

Not minding the long distances, South Africa boasts of good transport links across the country and accessible by all modes of transport, that is by bus, car, plane or train. Most visiting tourists go with the option of hiring a car but backpackers buses are getting more popular.


South Africa has a total of eleven official languages: Afrikaans, Northern Sotho, English, Southern Ndebele, Southern Sotho, Swazi, Tsonga, Tswana, Venda, Xhosa and Zulu. However, English is generally understood across the country, being the language of business, politics and the media, and is regarded as the country's lingua franca.


The official currency is the Rand which is denoted by either R or ZAR. South Africa is part of the Southern African Common Monetary Area; this means the Rand is also accepted in Namibia, Lesotho, Swaziland, Mozambique and the southern half of Zimbabwe.

Passport Visa


1. Two identical passport sizes, 45mmx45mm (Coloured on white background).

2. A valid passport (valid for 6 months)

3. Self introduction letter (Stating the purpose of visit, arrival & departure dates, Residential address, phone number and brief description of the nature of the job).

4. Introduction letter from an employer signed with contact details, purpose of visit, arrival & departure dates.

5. Copy of financial status (six months bank statement, signed and stamped) and Reference letter from the bank

6. Copy of vaccination card (yellow card) - from the international airport (port health).

7. Marriage certificate (Photocopy)

8. Consent letter from Wife/Husband

9. Certificate of incorporation if you owns the company and you are submitting the Company Bank Statement.

10. For Minor, birth certificate, letter from School and consent letter from either father/ mother.

Additional requirements from the sponsor.

1.     Sponsorship letter

2.     Introduction letter from the company

3.     Copy of financial status (6 months bank statements, signed and stamp)

4.     Bio data page

5.     Certificate of incorporation if you are the owner of the company and you are submitting the company’s bank statement.

Please note: We provide the following as part of our service:

* Application form fully completed in black ink only

* Hotel dummy booking

*Flight dummy booking.


All letters should be address to the following address:

South African Consulate General

16B Lobito Crescent

Wuse II,




SAST  South Africa Standard Time UTC +2:00

EAT    Eastern Africa Time UTC +3:00

ACCEPT COOKIESTo give you the best possible experience, this site uses cookies. Using this site means you agree to our use of cookies. We have published a cookies policy, which you should read to find out more about the cookies we use. View cookies policy.