Iran (Islamic Republic of Iran), Middle East - Wontra Travels

Iran (Islamic Republic of Iran)

Start Your Search Here

    • 16+ years
    • 12-15 years
    • 2-11 years
    • 0-23 months

Welcome to Iran (Islamic Republic of Iran)

Iran (Islamic Republic of Iran)
  • Capital: Tehran
  • Currency: Iranian Rial (IRR)
  • Diailing Code: +98
  • Driving Side: Right
  • Electricity: 220V, 50Hx (European plug)
  • Language: Persian
  • Population: 82.8 million (2016)
  • Religion: Islam (Shia)
  • Time Zone: IRST (UTC+3:30)/IRDT (UTC+4:30)
  • Total Area: Area: 1,648,195 km2 (636,372 sq mi)


With historical sites dating back to the Persian Empire, the Islamic Republic of Iran, is a large country in Western Asia (within the Greater Middle East and a part of the South-Central Asian union), between the Gulf of Oman, the Perisian Gulf and the Caspian sea.

Iran is bordered by Iraq to the west, Turkey, Armenia, Azerbaijan Naxcivan enclave and Azerbaijan to the northwest, Turkmenistan to the northeast, and Afghanistan and Pakistan to the southweast. It is divided into five regions with thirty one provinces (ostān), each governed by an appointed governor (ostāndār).

The provinces are divided into counties (šahrestān), and subdivided into districts (baxš) and sub-districts (dehestān).  The modern capital, Tehran, is the capital and largest city of Iran. It is an economical and cultural center, and is the hub of the country's communication and transport network. It is also home to the opulent Golestan Palace, seat of the Qajar Dynasty (1794–1925) and modern landmarks such as the 435m-high Milad Tower.

Iran is a diverse country, consisting of numerous ethnic and linguistic groups that are unified through a shared Iranian nationality. Majority of the population speak Persian, which is also the official language of Iran. Various regions also speak Azeri Turkish, which is the most spoken language in the country after Persian. 

Information & Facts


Iran is a vast country, and has different types of climate: mild and quite wet on the coast of the Caspian Sea, continental and arid in the plateau, cold in high mountains, desert and hot in the southern coast and in the southeast. Generally speaking, Iran is an arid country, however in the west and the north the rains are a bit more abundant than in the east and the south. The only rainy area is the Caspian Sea coast. Summer is sunny is everywhere. 


In Iran the power sockets are of type C and F. The standard voltage is 220 V and the standard frequency is 50 Hz. Electrical appliances with standard voltage between 220 - 240 V can be used in Iran while those in the range of 100 V - 127 V need a voltage converter.

Getting Around

Iran has a well-developed transport system and there is an extensive network (bus and train) connecting most of the cities. The country boasts of good roads, regular comfortable buses and affordable trains. Travelling by air is not expensive and ticket prices are always fixed.


Persian, an Indo-European language, is Iran's national and official language. Kurdish and Azeri languages are also spoken in areas of large Kurdish and Azeri populations.


The Iranian rial (IRR) is the currency of Iran. It is issued by the Central Bank of the Islamic Republic of Iran. 100 dinar makes up a Rial; however, Dinars are not used in accounting because of the very low value of the Rial. Coins are issued in values of 50, 100, 250, 500, 1, 000, 2, 000, and 5, 000 rials. Banknotes are produced in 500, 1, 000, 2, 000, 5, 000, 10, 000, 20, 000, 50, 000, and 100, 000 denominations.

PS: Although the "toman" is no longer an official unit of Iranian currency, Iranians commonly express amounts of money and prices of goods in "tomans". For this purpose, one "toman" equals 10 rials.

Passport Visa

To enter Iran, a visa is required for the citizens of all countries except Lebanon, Turkey, Malaysia, UAE, Oman, Russia, Armenia, Georgia, Azerbaijan, Venezuela, Tansania, Nicaragua, Bolivia and Ecuador.

Citizens of all countries except Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Canada, Colombia, India, Iraq, Jordan, Pakistan, Somalia, UK and USA can obtain a tourism visa on arrival (VOA) for max. 90 days at the international airports of Gheshm Island, Mashhad, Esfahan, Shiraz, Tabriz and Tehran.


The Iran Standard Time (IRST) or Iran Time (IT) is the time zone used in Iran only. Iran uses a UTC offset UTC+03:30. IRST is defined by the 52.5 degrees east meridian, which defines the Iranian calendar and is the official meridian of Iran. The country also observes Daylight Savings – the Iran Daylight Time (IRDT). The IRDT is 4:30 hours ahead of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

ACCEPT COOKIESTo give you the best possible experience, this site uses cookies. Using this site means you agree to our use of cookies. We have published a cookies policy, which you should read to find out more about the cookies we use. View cookies policy.